The Gift of Giving

It is that time of year when we have the excitement of receiving gifts. As wonderful as it is to have new things and be surprised, I find the blessing in giving. I know it may sound cheesy, but it is absolutely true! One of my favorite things to do is to be creative and give something special to someone I love. Acts 20:35b says, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’

So why is that? Why is it more blessed to give than to receive? I think as a believer, there is a great joy that comes from modeling after the Father. He gave everything for us, so when we experience the self-sacrifice to help others, we get a taste of eternity. Our hearts are rewarded with the fruit of our labor in love. We see a harvest that we sowed in another be multiplied.

As the stores put their deals out and the newest products flood the window displays, it is difficult not to think of ourselves. This tends to be a season of “me,” “me,” “me.” I know because I am a very selfish person. In fact, if it were not for the Holy Spirit living inside, “my world” would revolve around me 24/7.

It is so easy to think that we are at the center of the universe. We wake up and see things from our perspective. We are taught to take care of ourselves. We are taught to get good grades, excel in the work place, to enhance our beauty. In this “selfie” society, it is SO difficult to get outside of our own wants and dreams.

Christmastime can be more challenging for getting outside of ourselves, but if we look there are many opportunities to bless others…

  • Giving gifts
  • Providing meals to families in need
  • Writing Christmas cards to the elderly
  • Blessing orphans with presents
  • The gift of time: investing your time into others
  • Prayer
  • Encouraging those who will be missing a loved one this year

 

These are just a few ways to encourage other people in this season. What are some practical ways that you can reach out? I would love to learn from you!

Emma Danzey

http://www.emmadanzey.com

Leave a Reply

