One Word Resolution Solution

Hello there! Happy New Year! Happy January! As you know, this first month of the year offers us the opportunity to make a resolution, to start over by setting a few goals and looking ahead. By now, you either were gung ho, made a resolution and are hopefully right on track. Or, maybe you’re like me. Resolutions stress you out and overwhelm you as you recognize just how many areas of your life need a little help. Making healthier decisions. Working harder at my marriage. Being kinder to my kids, especially when they’re in trouble or I am just plain grumpy.  Maybe, just smiling more. Staying more focused and disciplined in my walk with God. I could go on and on.

Way back when, I tried to set a few resolutions each January. Sadly, it seemed that after just a few days or weeks, my best intentions went by the wayside. A string around my finger, Post-It notes, phone reminders, alarms, or even giant signs pasted on the bathroom mirror or refrigerator didn’t seem to help at all. These little devices that are supposed to help us remember, didn’t really work for me and never really helped with the motivation factor.  So, instead of feeling guilty about my inability to remain committed, I avoided making resolutions altogether.

A few years ago, however, I was introduced to a book called My One Word. The author, Mike Ashcraft, is a pastor in Wilmington, NC who actually agrees that making a list of resolutions isn’t always the best way to make lasting changes. Instead, he invites his congregation to “choose one word that represents what you most hope God will do in you, and focus on it for an entire year.” Each January they each pick a word and tie it to a Scripture that will help them cling to a biblical truth or promise related to the area where a transformation is desired.

my-one-word-600x350

 

Inspired by this new twist on New Year’s commitments, I decided to do this myself. In 2013, my word was “believe”. After God led me to a series of challenges, I wanted to finish the year steadily believing that He was at work even if I could not see what He was doing. This past year, I chose the word “today”.  Since my second teen would be entering his Senior year in high school, I wanted remain fully present and focus on what God had for me each day. For both words I chose a relevant scripture and put it on a bookmark in my Bible. I also made something artistic that depicted the word and displayed it somewhere in my home. After two years of picking a word instead of a resolution, I continue to be amazed at how God used just one word combined with His word to continually refine me throughout the year. Sometimes someone would say it at just the right time, even though they had no idea that it was “my” word.  Other times, I would heard “my” word on the radio, in a sermon or in a song. Throughout the year, God continually used the word in creative ways to remind me of the desire I had laid before him in January.

As I began this year, I decided to alter this tradition a little by picking a second word that specifically applies to my relationship with my teenagers. I challenge you to join me in doing this as well. Consider selecting a word and then sharing it with your teens or an accountability partner to let them know what you are asking the Lord to form in your relationship with them this year.  Remember to find a Scripture that is connected to the word that will help you lean on Him as He molds you and shapes you this year. To inspire you to think about what you might like to do differently in your relationship with your teen, here are a few possibilities: Delight, PursueWaitListenLoveEngageEncourage, Mercy, Watch, or Discern. 

So, if you haven’t made a resolution yet, or if you’re like me and you’ve already failed to keep the one you made, try this for a change! For more ideas you might want to check out the book or the website www.myoneword.com. Both offer many ideas to help you use this simple little tool to bring about lasting change in your life. Ask God to lead you to just the right word and expect Him to use this word as a powerful reminder throughout the year. After you pick out a Scripture associated with your word, write the word and the verse down and post it where you will regularly see it. Most of all, make sure you spend time in His word so that He can refine you and mold you into the parent that He has called you to be for your teen. Regardless of what happens in the year ahead, we can take heart in the fact that our faithful God is always at work in the life of a mom who is yielded to Him.

But now, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are our potter; we are all the work of your hand.   Isaiah 64:8

 

Leave a Reply

