Someone Else’s Goal

Is there someone in your life you wish that you looked like? Who is it? I find many women have features that I admire and even get jealous of if I am not careful. One of these women is a beautiful 30-year-old wife and mom at my church. She is taller, slender, and has a gorgeous face and long hair. We attend some of the same workout classes during the week and I always look at her and think, “Work hard and you could look like her too!”

I had a great realization this past weekend. I went to babysit for her and her husband’s two boys. When they returned after their date we were talking and she told me that she wished she had my body. I was completely thrown off guard that the woman I so admired told me she would look at me in our workout class and hope to look like me! Ever since then, I have been using a new perspective. I am someone’s goal. Just like someone else has been my goal. So why not embrace the body I am in and encourage others in what God has given them.

There are a few different characters in scripture that dealt with comparison. One of the most famous situations was Cain and Abel. I always thought of Cain as someone who was evil and unfavorable by God. I honestly did not think he could ever be as accepted as his brother. Boy was I wrong!

Genesis 4:6-7 says, “Then the Lord said to Cain, “Why are you angry? Why is your face downcast? If you do what is right, will you not be accepted? But if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at your door; it desires to have you, but you must rule over it.”

God always provide a way out of temptation. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

Are you struggling with comparison to others? Is it a sibling rivalry? A best friend that seems to have everything? Or a classmate that always get one grade point higher than you?

Whether you believe it or not, as much as you desire to be like another person, there is probably someone who wants to be like you too. Instead of focusing on being like other people, (who are imperfect) let’s begin our journeys in becoming like Christ. He is the ultimate example. God does not compare His children. He loves us all, the Prodigals and the Pharisees. We are all one in Christ Jesus.

 

By: Emma Danzey

http://www.emmadanzey.com

2 thoughts on “Someone Else’s Goal

Leave a Reply

